

Annual General Meeting Minutes 10.04.14

Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen 13:00 to 14:00

### Present

Francis King, Amy Purvis, Ben Livings, Marie Selwood, Anne Barlow, Marian Duggan, Chris Ashford, Rosemary Hunter, Mark O'Brien, Gethin Rees, Marianne Wade, Kevin Brown, Alan Paterson, Rosemary Auchmuty, Fiona Cownie, Anthony Bradney, Gavin Dingwall, Jen Hendry, Penny English, Helen Carr, Antonia Layard, Dave Cowan, Gita Gill, Phil Thomas, Michael Thomson, Rosie Harding, Naomi Creutzfeldt, Mary Seneviratne, Charlotte Bendall, Maebh Harding.

Agenda item Action

1. Apologies

Jonathan Garton, Andre Naidoo, Jed Meers

2. Minutes of AGM 2013 Approved.

3.1. Chair's Report

A written report was provided and the Chair highlighted several points.

In particular, thanks were offered to those Executive members who were standing down: Gavin Dingwall, Penny English, Caroline Hunter, Andre Naidoo, and Jane Scoular.

# 3.2. Treasurer

A written report was provided (see papers). The accounts has been audited and confirmed by Professor Phil Rumney.

## 3.3. Membership

A written report was provided (see papers).

#### 3.4. Recruitment

A written report was provided (see papers).

#### 3.5. Newsletter and Website

A written report was provided (see papers). In addition, members present who will be attending the LSA Annual Meeting in Minneapolis were requested to look out for the visibility of the newsletter at the conference and report back to MS.

ALL/MS

## 3.6. International Liaison

A written report was provided (see papers).

# 3.7. PG Student Representative

A written report was provided (see papers).

#### 3.8 Social Media

A written report was provided (see papers). In addition, it was noted that Jen Hendry had now taken over this role with effect from the AGM.

## 3.9 Webmaster

A written report was provided (see papers).

### 4. Constitutional Amendment

A constitutional amendment was laid before the AGM in accordance with the rules of the constitution. A number of questions were raised, particularly in relation to clauses 5.7 and 4.1.

Widespread support was expressed for the intentions behind the amendment but the AGM felt some of the changes were unclear, and could be drafted differently.

A resolution was proposed by Helen Carr, seconded by Antonia Layard, and unanimously passed which would extend the current term of the Chair by three years.

Dave Cowan agreed to take responsibility for reviewing and drafting as appropriate, any required change to the constitution.

DC

## 5. Elections

Michael Thomson was proposed by Rosie Harding and seconded by Jen Hendry.

Geth Rees was proposed by Kevin Brown and seconded by Marian Duggan.

Francis King was proposed by Ben Livings and seconded by Chris Ashford.

Naomi Creutzfeldt was proposed by Marian Duggan and seconded by Anthony Bradney.

Dave Cowan was proposed by Antonia Layard and seconded by Rosemary Auchmuty.

Helen Carr was proposed by Antonia Layard and seconded by Rosemary Auchmuty.

All six proposed names joined the Executive. Maebh Harding was co-opted onto the Executive as the Warwick 2015 conference representative.

New members would also be added to the Executive mailing list.

6. Any Other Business

None.

6. Next Meeting

The next AGM will be held at the Warwick 2015 Conference.