

SLSA Annual General Meeting 2023 Minutes

Present:

Mitchell Travis, Lara MacLachlan, Maddy Millar, Elisabeth Griffiths, Philip Bremner, Emma Milne, Marie Selwood, Rania Muhareb, Raza Saeed, Marie Fox, Anna Carhill, Sarah Singh, Catherine Jaquiss, Kay Lalor, Beverley Clough, Dan Bedford, Juliet Brook, Emily Walsh, Kat Langley, Zach Leggett, Jed Meers, Matt Howard, Naomi Crutzfeldt, Smita Kheria, Azar Masoumi, Rachel Maguire, Gemma Parsons, Richard Collier, Nkem Itanyi, June Jiang, Rebecca Moosavian, Sabrina Germain, Marie Hutton, Linda Mulcahy, Alessandra Minissale, Alex Green, Andra La Roux Kemp, Annavaram Neredimilli, Antonia Layard, Chris Ashford, Claire Bessant, Emma Jones, Gulvor Erol, James Hand, Jen Hendry, Joseph Gascoigne, Katie Hunt, Kirsten McConnachie, Marie Burton, Paulette Morris, Richard Craven, Vanessa Munro, Dr Roxanna Dehaghani, Margiz Hajiyeva, Hanin Abou Salem

1. Approval of minutes from 2022 SLSA AGM

Minutes approved

2. Trustee's Annual Report (John Harrington)

JH would like to thank the conference organisers for a wonderful conference. He would also like to thank the members of the SLSA board, and to everyone stepping down from the board for all of their work. Key work in socio-legal studies has been possible due to our sound financial position, which has been enabled by various stakeholders (all covered with the trustee's report). JH looked forward to next year's conference at Portsmouth.

3. Annual Accounts (Philip Bremner)

PB explained that our finances are in a healthy position due to large donations from Cardiff and York, as well as increased newsletter sponsorship. We have exceeded our income forecast for the year.

4. Retirement and Elections of Trustees and Ex-Officio Trustees

a) retiring & not standing for re-election [Chris Ashford [Vice Chair], Neil Graffin [Honorary Secretary], Vanessa Munro, Claire Williams, Flora Renz]

Very many thanks to all retiring members for their contributions to the SLSA.

b) retiring & standing for re-election [Colin Moore (Membership Secretary), Simon Flacks, Emma Jones, Emma Milne)

All elected.

c) Election of ex-officio trustees [Vice Chair, Honorary Secretary]

Smita Kheria was elected as Vice Chair.



Emma Milne was elected as Honorary Secretary.

d) Election of up to 5 new Trustees

New trustees elected are Alex Green, Marie Hutton, Kay Lalor, Kirsten McConnachie and Raza Saeed.

5. AOB

None to report.

6. Next Meeting

TBC.